Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post Reply
User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:02 pm

Just taking a shot in the dark on these boards with this one but I need some advice on what to do with the heating system in our home. Ok so we have a Carrier modulating 4-way multipoise gas furnace series 100 and it likes to blow cold air intermittently when it should be blowing hot air. I cannot figure out what is causing this. The code I get is 33 a blinking yellow light which is a limit circuit fault but I don't know what that is or how to fix it. Any real useful advice would be appreciated if you are in the know. :angry-banghead:

User avatar
Marc Ox
Intermediate
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:34 am
Real Name: Marc

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by Marc Ox » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Pdga# 54859

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:27 pm

Thanks Marc yeah helpful indeed but seems there are many things the code could mean. I've been considering replacing the ignitor switch and probably will start with that. Thanks again

User avatar
MichiganJeff
WTF ??!!!
Posts: 14582
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:05 am
Real Name: Jeff Wiechowski
Location: Ballston Lake, NY

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by MichiganJeff » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:12 pm

During that last cold snap a few weeks back, my furnace would only blow cold air.
Turned out to be a flame sensor.
It was a 15 min fix but I have no idea of the cost because I live in an apartment.
2019-2020 Innova Ambassador
PDGA #11653 / NEFA #1112

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:15 am

yeah Jeff that's the thermocouple. That has to be considered as well. sob quite on me again last night. the cold air wakes me up then I go down and do a manual reset after that have to wait like 15 minutes for more hot air to blow out. this is a pain in the arse. this system is brand new too installed in 2011, well almost brand new.

User avatar
kenjiac
I Am "They"
Posts: 4554
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:10 pm
Location: Colonie NY

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by kenjiac » Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:34 pm

Thermocouple are cheap. Usually real easy to fix. But from my experience when they go they go. No intermittent problem.
DisCap President
PDGA # 37696
NEFA # 1163

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:38 am

Yeah its not the thermocouple. Pretty sure its the flame roll-out switch. Now where to find one. this is becoming a work in progress.

User avatar
marty
Advanced
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:06 pm
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by marty » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:40 am

Sounds like this blows shad. so these are the options:

- Defective blower motor or start capacitor. - Dirty filter or restricted duct system.
- Loose blower wheel. - Defective switch or connections.
- Inadequate Combustion air supply Flame Roll-out Switch or fuse link.
- Open Flame Roll-out switch,or fuse link. Manual reset or replace.

I'm assuming you checked the easiest thing on the list, a clogged air filter? Other than that it looks like you have some defective piece of electronics. Flame roll out switch sounds easiest. What is the actual model name number of your furnace, I couldnt find anything with the model you listed.

They have these on ebay for $10-15 if you can find the model number of the furnace
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid= ... &_from=R40

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:45 am

yup tried most of the stuff on that list. Not sure how much the switch is pricing it now. its definitely not the blower. manual reset is what we've been doing two or three times daily to get by. usually have the heat set at 67 woke up this morning it was 59 in the house too 45 mins to get back up. sick of this shinola.

User avatar
marty
Advanced
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:06 pm
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by marty » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:46 am

that blows dude, i updated my post with an ebay link. can you maybe pull out the switch and look at a part number on it?

I am heating with only wood now. if I load with chit wood or its super cold, i got those freezing WTF temps in teh house too

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:46 am

got my ohm meter gonna test the switch now see if its getting 24 volts or not.

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:50 am

thanks for the link dude glad they are on the cheap side price wise.

User avatar
shad
Discussion Pro
Posts: 1876
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 1:23 pm
Real Name: Steve "Shad" Schultz
Location: Albany
Contact:

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by shad » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:09 am

we have continuity with the switches and they have reset buttons on them so now we wait and see if this works.

User avatar
chelsey12
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:20 pm
Real Name: chelsey

Re: Do we have any HVAC specialists here?

Post by chelsey12 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:22 pm

I am looking for someone who does HVAC work on the side, I am looking to have a couple heat runs and a cold air reutrn added to the lower level of a raised ranch.

Post Reply